San Marcos de Apalache Historic State Park
The many different flags flying over San Marcos de Apalache Historic State Park welcome visitors to the park and demonstrate the colorful history of this site, from the Spanish explorers to the present day. The history of this National Landmark dates back to 1528 when Panfilo de Narvaez arrived in the area with 300 men; however, the first fort was not built until 1679. Andrew Jackson occupied the fort for a brief time in the early 1800s.
The museum at the park displays pottery and tools unearthed near the original fort. Interpretive displays explain the history of the San Marcos site. A video recounts the days of the Spanish, English, American and Confederate forces that once occupied this site. A self-guided interpretive trail is open to visitors. Guided tours are available with two week’s notice. For more information, go to: www.floridahikes.com/sanmarcos
A picnic area is available featuring picnic tables and barbecue grills. Tucker’s Point offers a scenic view at the water’s edge where the St. Marks River joins the Wakulla River and flows out into Apalachee Bay. The point is an excellent spot for fishing. Species commonly caught at this unique spot where fresh and salt water come together include redfish, speckled trout, sheepshead and even largemouth bass! A Florida fishing license is required for persons 16 years of age or older.
Directions: East on US Hwy 98 10.2 mi, keep left onto US-319/SR-377 through Sopchoppy, turn left on US Hwy 98. Turn right onto SR-363/Port Leon Dr, then turn right onto Shell Island Road, trun left onto Fire Escape Road, keep straight onto Old Fort Road. About 1 hour and 43.9 miles from the Carrabelle Chamber of Commerce.
Click here for the History & Nature Click here for Park Guidelines
Click here to download brochure page 1
Click here to download brochure page 2
For more information, go to: www.floridahikes.com/exploring-san-marcos-de-apalache
(This information and brochure created by Florida State Parks 03/14)